Open 24 Hours


Call Us For A Free Consultation



What to Know if You Get in a Car Accident Without Car Insurance in Florida

In the state of Florida, all drivers operating a motor vehicle must carry car insurance. The state of Florida is a no-fault auto insurance state, meaning that each insurance company pays for their policy holder’s damages, regardless of who is at fault. However, if you are involved in a car accident without the proper insurance, things can get a bit tricky.

Most likely, you will end up paying out of pocket for the damages done to you and your personal property. Driving without insurance could also result in penalties from the Department of Motor Vehicles, such as suspending your license and other associated fees.

There are a number of penalties and fees associated with driving a motor vehicle without car insurance in the state of Florida.

Minimum insurance requirements in Florida

The state of Florida requires you to carry a certain amount of auto insurance for different types of liability. Failure to carry the proper amount of insurance in the state of Florida can result in hefty fines, penalties on your driving record, or even jail time in extreme circumstances. Here are the absolute minimum insurance requirements that drivers in the state of Florida must carry:

$10,000 for property damage

$10,000 for personal injury

$10,000 for bodily injury per person per accident

$20,000 for bodily injury for all persons per accident

The state of Florida does not require you to carry additional insurance, but it might be in your best interest to add on from the bare minimum. This additional insurance can protect you from monetary values over the bare minimum, and other unforeseen charges.

Consequences of driving without car insurance

There are a number of penalties and fees associated with driving a motor vehicle without car insurance in the state of Florida. The extent of these consequences will usually be determined by how many times the driver has been previously caught driving without insurance, as well as other factors like injury to other drivers. Here are the potential consequences of driving without insurance:

Points off your license

License Suspended

License reinstatement fees

Court fees

Jail time

The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles enforces their laws through the Bureau of Motorist Compliance. This is the organization that determines your penalties, and the organization that receives the penalty fees.

What to do if I am caught driving with no insurance

Because Florida is a no-fault insurance state, most accidents end with each party paying for their own damages, either through their insurance or out of pocket. The implications that come with driving without auto insurance will usually depend on if the other party involved is taking legal action against you, and if any injury was sustained.

Here are two common situations that involve legal action and injury, and how they can be affected if an individual involved has no insurance

I was injured in a car accident with no insurance

For minor injuries, it may be worthwhile to pay out of pocket for your medical costs. However, even if you have no insurance, you can pursue legal action against another party. If your injuries are severe and potentially have a permanent effect on your quality of life, consider hiring a professional car accident lawyer to consult with.

A great car accident lawyer can get you the compensation you deserve for property damages, medical bills, and how the accident will affect your future.

The other driver was injured in the accident

If the other driver was injured, their auto insurance should help pay for any damages or medical bills. However, the injured individual also has the right to pursue legal action against you. If the driver has underinsured/uninsured auto insurance coverage, you are in luck. This additional insurance coverage protects against drivers that are underinsured/uninsured, and is less likely to result in legal action against you.

Can I purchase car insurance after an accident?

Yes, but it won’t cover any damages related to anything that happened before you had insurance coverage. If you still want to buy car insurance after an accident, there are a few special steps that are required.

When you purchase the insurance policy, you must notify your insurance company that you have been in an uninsured auto accident. If you’re getting your license reinstated, you must ask the insurance company to issue you a certificate of liability (SR-22), which has to be submitted to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles for the next three years after your uninsured accident. It acts as verification that you have insurance.

No Comments

Leave a Comment